Menu Shopping cart
Your basket is empty.
Support us


Exhibitions and Projects
25 October 2011–29 May 2012

Harmony of the Spheres XI

Lectures and concerts

Dear Friends of the National Gallery of Slovenia and the Slovene Philharmonic String Chamber Orchestra,

For the XI season we propose five concerts with select pieces of the world’s musical treasure trove.

The Estonian composer Arvo Pärt (1935) is a minimalist and one of the most notable composers of church music. He has perfected a composing technique of his own called tintinnabuli, in which he created Fratres, strongly influenced by the Gregorian chant. Finnish composer Aulis Salinen (1935) is a modernist who respects tradition. The Nocturnal Dances of Don Juan Quixote are inventive and wittingly beaded dancing themes. We shall close the evening with the Holberg Suite by the Norwegian Edward Grieg.

We cannot do without the eternal Johann S. Bach. The Advent season will see the performance of two of the six Brandenburg Concertos written for strings in the originally prescribed cast: the 3rd concerto in G-major for three violins, three violas, three cellos, double base and harpsichord, and the 6th concerto for two violas, two violas da gamba, cello, double base and harpsichord. Srečko Bradič modelled his Concerto da chiesa on Bach’s example using an identical cast. We shall enliven the music of the strings with the Concerto for Oboe in D-minor.

The evening of Slovene composers will showcase Dečo Žgur, Janez Gregorc, Nino de Gleria and Vasko Atanasovski, the last of which will also perform his most recent composition as a soloist. We shall be treated to the sounds of a string orchestra performing pieces by serious composers of a lighter genre.

Among the unforgettable pieces between the Baroque and Classicism are two famous concertos for flute and brilliant string symphonies by Jiři Antonin Benda, Johann Joachim Quantz and Carl Philipp E. Bach.

The last concert is dedicated to the pearls of the 20th century. György Sandor Ligeti is one of the greatest composers of the century known also for his film music for Stanley Kubrick. We shall play “Ramifications” of 1969 for twelve strings. Paul Hindemith wrote his Music of Mourning for viola and strings in six hours on 21st January 1936, as he was informed of the death of King George V., and played it as a soloist that same evening with the BBC orchestra. String Quartet No. 4 by Béla Bartók in an expanded cast will come as dessert.

The guests of the series will be renowned foreign and local soloists: Alexander Rudin, Gordana Josifova Nedelkovska, Vasko Atanasovski, Aleš Kacjan and Maja Rome.

The visual part is dedicated entirely to Slovene art. Prof. Dr. Milček Komelj will talk about Božidar Jakac and music, Prof. DDr. Nataša Golob about the Christianization of the Slovenes and psalm singing, Prof. Dr. Marjeta Ciglenečki about the Haloze of photographer Stojan Kerbler, Assist. Prof. Dr. Janez Balažic about the sound of the image in the work of the Prekmurje painters, and Dr. Andrej Smrekar about the images of inspiration in the sculpture of France Gorše.

Klemen Hvala, Art Director of SFCSO
Dr. Barbara Jaki, Director of NG

Subscription price: 75 €
Single ticket: 20 €
Subscription price for Friends of the National Gallery: 60 €
Single ticket: 15 €

180 seats available at a single price. Subscription or single tickets available at the front desk of the National Gallery of Slovenia, Ljubljana, 10 a.m.–6 p.m., or one hour before the event; closed Mondays.


25 October 2011
The Coldness and Warmth of the North
Alexander Rudin, cello
Arvo Pärt: Fratres
Aulis Sallinen: The Nocturnal Dances of Don Quixote, Op. 58
Edvard Grieg: Holberg Suite, Op. 40
Božidar Jakac and Music
Milček Komelj

6 December 2011
Brandenburg Concertos
Gordana Josifova - Nedelkovska, oboe
Johann S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3
Johann S. Bach: Concerto for Oboe in D-minor – BWV 1059
Stanko Bradić: Concerto da chiesa
Johann S. Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 6
The Singing of Psalms in the 9th century
Nataša Golob, Faculty of Arts, University of Ljubljana

21 February 2012
Serious & Lightsome
Vasko Atanasovski, saxophone
Dečo Žgur: “By the Road” for string orchestra
Janez Gregorc: “The Mystery of Socerb Castle” for saxophone and string orchestra
Nino de Gleria: Henki Penki Horizontal Polka”
Vasko Atanasovski: “Aarau afternoon” for string orchestra
Vasko Atanasovski: A new piece for saxophone and string orchestra
Stojan Kerbler: The Haloze Roads and Pathways
Marjeta Ciglenečki, Faculty of Arts, University of Maribor

17 April 2012
Music between the Baroque and Classicism
Aleš Kacjan, flute
Georg Anton Benda: Sinfonia in B-major
Johann Joachim Quantz: Flute Concerto in G-major
Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Flute Concerto in D-minor
Carl Philipp Emanuel Bach: Symphony No. 6 in E-major
The Sound of the Image
Janez Balažic, Faculty of Arts, University of Maribor

29 May 2012
Pearls of the 20th Century
Maja Rome, viola
György Sandor Ligeti: Ramifications” for twelve strings
Paul Hindemith: Trauermusik for viola and string orchestra
Béla Bartók: String Quartet No. 4, arr. for string orchestra
Visualising Inspiration: France Gorše
Andrej Smrekar, Narodna galerija/National Gallery of Slovenia

The following made the Harmony of the Spheres XI possible
Lek, a Sandoz Company
Municipality Ljubljana
Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Slovenia